7th Times the Charm??

It’s no surprise that at this time of the year the opportunities where conditions will be favorable for flying…or, more specifically, in my case, flying solo cross country will be limited.

For that reason, I had organized my work / vacation / weekend schedule to include several opportunities.  The idea was to get not one but all 3 of my cross country flights done.

I would have to do N94-KIPT, which would fulfill the 50NM requirement. I would do N94-KUNV which would be a second 50NM trip but have the secondary purposes of familiarizing me with another field and building towards the 5 total hours of Solo Cross Country. Last trip would be N94-KUNV-KLNS-N94.  This would fulfill my long cross country requirement.  Then I would be able to move onto the final phase of training and checkride prep.

So far…NONE of the above have been accomplished.  Not from a lack of trying.  I stopped counting but I know I am at least coming up on attempt 7.  Weather has just never cooperated on the date / time I picked.  As my luck would have it, my crappy weather days always seemed to be bookended by some beautiful flying days.  At least somebody’s getting to fly…just not me.

So, I’ve learned patience (not really) and to keep the bags always packed.

It’s Christmas, so no flying today…although the weather is naturally perfect for flying.  That makes sense because my last weather related cancellation was yesterday.

Next time to try…tomorrow morning. Weather, solidly IFFY. Super.

Well, at least I did get an aviation related smile today.  I’m constantly checking the weather lately and this morning was no different.

While it wasn’t in the raw METAR, I noticed something quite interesting in Foreflight’s weather translations.

Photo Dec 25, 7 17 09 AM

Leave a Reply

